What is Do Not Track?
DNT is a web browser setting that requests that a web application disable its tracking of an individual user. When you choose to turn on the DNT setting in your browser, your browser sends a special signal to websites, analytics companies, ad networks, plug in providers, and other web services you encounter while browsing to stop tracking your activity.

You are being tracked
Your browser is telling sites that you affirmatively want to be tracked.
Adjust Settings

How Do Companies Use It?
There is no consensus yet on how the companies you encounter should interpret DNT. As a result, most sites do not currently change their practices when they receive a DNT signal.
Learn More

The Future of DNT
Although there is no universally-agreed upon standard for what a company should do when it detects a DNT signal, an international working group is attempting to create a consensus interpretation.
Learn More
Why Do Companies Track You?
Web services track users for a wide variety of reasons. Websites and analytics companies may track to know how many unique users visit their sites, or to learn how users navigate within a site. Advertising networks may track you in order to measure the effectiveness of the ads they serve, or to create a web surfing profile for you that is used to create more personalized ads.
Learn More
PRIVACY TOOLS​TRACKING OPTIONS

This site is presented by the Future of Privacy Forum, an industry-supported think tank seeking to advance responsible data practices. Companies that wish to be listed on our Implementers page should contact us.
FPF's Privacy Policy