Mohamed Salah comes third in The Best FIFA awards 2021
Lewandowski crowned ‘Best Player’ for second year in row. Senegalese Mendy claims ‘Best Goalkeeper’, and special award for Ronaldo
Daily News Egypt January 19, 2022 Comments Off

ayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski was named the best player in the world for the second time in a row at the FIFA Best Awards ceremony organised by the International Football Association (FIFA) on Monday in Zurich, Switzerland, the headquarters of the FIFA.
Lewandowski surpassed Egypt and Liverpool star Mohamed Salah, who came in third place after the Argentinian Lionel Messi, who plays for Paris Saint-Germain.
The award ceremony witnessed the presence of Gianni Infantino, the President of the FIFA, and a number of international stars.
Lewandowski scored 48 points, surpassing Messi’s 44 points, and Salah’s 39. Meanwhile, French Karim Benzema came in fourth with 30 points, then Chelsea’s N’Golo Kante with 24 points.
On the women’s side, Barcelona’s Alexia Putillas won the best player award, beating her compatriot and fellow Barca Jennifer Hermoso and Australian Chelsea player Sam Kerr.
Back to the men, Tottenham Hotspur’s Erik Lamela won the Puskas Award for the best goal in the world for the year 2021 for his goal in the Tottenham-Arsenal match in the English Premier League in the match between Chelsea and Porto.
German coach Thomas Tuchel also won the award for the best coach in the world after winning the Champions League with the Blues, beating Manchester City coach Pep Guardiola and Italian Roberto Mancini — the coach of the Italian national team.
Meanwhile, Chelsea’s British coach Emma Hayes won the best coach award for a women’s team, outperforming her rivals, Luis Cortes — the coach of the women’s team at Barcelona, ​​and the Dutch coach Sarina Wegmann — the coach of the England team.
Additionally, the Senegalese Chelsea goalkeeper Edward Mendy saved the face of Africa and won the award for the best goalkeeper in the world for the year 2021, beating the Italian Gianluigi Donnarumma — the goalkeeper of Paris Saint-Germain, and the German Manuel Neuer — Bayern Munich’s goalkeeper. 
Furthermore, Portuguese star Cristiano Ronaldo received the FIFA Special Award for scoring the most goals in his country’s shirt. Ronaldo was present at the FIFA ceremony and received the award amid a state of joy and happiness.
The national team’s sportsmanship fair play award went to the Danish team for Christian Eriksen’s downfall at Euro 2020.
The FIFA awards continued being stubborn with the Egyptian star Mohamed Salah, who was not in the ideal formation of the FIFA team for the year 2021, which included Gianluigi Donnarumma, David Alaba, Robin Diaz, Leonardo Bonucci, Giorginho, N’Golo Kante, Kevin De Bruyne, Cristiano Ronaldo, Erling Haaland, Robert Lewandowski, and Lionel Messi .
Topics: FIFA awards
Daily News Egypt
Featured Video
Xi Impression: A man who has led China to create unprecedented achievements
Editorial Pick
UAE President Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan dies at 73
Artists’ wages determined by success of their works only: Yousra
Opinion| Putin restores glory of czars and Biden is out of the scene
G7 ambassadors in Cairo rally behind Ukraine, urge Egypt to condemn Russian offensive
Latest News
Developer X obtains ministerial approval for Bianchi Ilios project in North Coast
MNHD reports EGP 271.5m in gross profit during 1Q 2022, growing 12.4% y-o-y
Tatweer Misr signs agreement with Schneider Electric to build, manage smart cities
Opinion| Ukraine: The war continues
Opinion| Is there any benefit to the Egyptian private sector adopting the green transformation?
Opinion| Is the US involved in the revival of ISIS?
Opinion| Weathering the storm of economic shocks: Three precautions you need to know
Receive our daily newsletter