Mathematical Research Institute of Oberwolfach The Mathematical Research Institute of Oberwolfach
: Mathematisches Forschungsinstitut Oberwolfach
) in Oberwolfach
, was founded as the Reich Institute of Mathematics
(German: Reichsinstitut für Mathematik
) by mathematician Wilhelm Süss
The library, the main building and the bungalows
Main building of the institute with restaurant and guest rooms
It organizes weekly workshops on diverse topics where mathematicians and scientists from all over the world come to do collaborative research
The Mathematical Research Institute (MFO) was founded 1 September 1944, located in the old castle. Gesellschaft für Mathematische Forschung e.V., the mathematical society running the MFO, was founded 17 June 1959.
1975: June 13 : Inauguration of the library and meetings building of the MFO, which replaced the old castle, also a gift of the Volkswagen Foundation
1989: May 26 : Inauguration of the extension of the guest building
1995: Establishment of the research programme "Research in Pairs"
2007: Establishment of the post-doctoral programme "Oberwolfach Leibniz Fellows"
2007: May 5 : Inauguration of the library extension, a gift of the Klaus Tschira Stiftung and the Volkswagen Foundation
2005 – 2010: General restoration of the guest house and the library building
The iconic model of the Boy surface
was installed in front of the Institute, as a gift from Mercedes-Benz
on January 28, 1991.
The Boy Surface is named after Werner Boy
who constructed the surface in his 1901 thesis, written under the direction of David Hilbert
The Oberwolfach Prize
is awarded approximately every three years for excellent achievements in changing fields of mathematics to young mathematicians not older than 35 years. It is financed by the Oberwolfach Foundation
and awarded in cooperation with the institute.
Last edited on 27 March 2021, at 12:25
Content is available under CC BY-SA 3.0
unless otherwise noted.