Faculty Senate
The Georgetown University Faculty Senate is a university-wide faculty governance body that advises the University President on academic, administrative, and financial issues that affect all three campuses. Its membership consists of seventy-five full-time faculty members elected by the three campuses, plus the three Executive Vice-Presidents, one designee appointed by the President (currently the Senior Advisor to the President for Faculty Relations), the Dean of the Graduate School, one Dean from the Medical Center, and two Main Campus Deans. It has a President, one Vice-President for each campus, and a Secretary-Treasurer, all elected by the Senate. The Senate plays a key role in formulating and revising policies that appear in the Faculty Handbook, including faculty rights and responsibilities, rank and tenure policy, the Grievance Code, and the Faculty Responsibilities Code. The Senate appoints faculty to the University Committee on Rank and Tenure, the Grievance Code Committee, the Faculty Responsibilities Committee, search committees for senior academic officers, and a wide variety of other committees.  For more information about the Senate, review the Senate Orientation presentation below.
Wayne A. Davis, Senate President (contact:​)
Lyndsay Taylor, Project Manager for Faculty Relations (contact:​)
John Hasnas, Chair, Grievance Committee (contact:​)
Anthony C. Arend, Chair, Faculty Responsibilities Committee (contact:​)
Office: ICC-305L (Bunn Intercultural Center)
Mailing address:
3700 O Street, N.W. (Box 571057)
Washington, DC 20057-1057
Phone: 202-687-7107
Fax: 202-687-8295
Faculty Senate
PO Box: 571057
3700 O Street, N.W.,
Washington DC
Phone: (202) 687-7107
Fax: (202) 687-8295
Maps Copyright Privacy AccessibilityFull Site Menu
Skip to main contentSkip to main site menu
MembersMeetings and MinutesCommitteesProposals Before the SenateSenate Service AwardsRules of ProcedureArchivePrior Senate MembersPrior AgendasPrior MeetingsPrior MinutesSteering CommitteeArchived DocumentsArchived Faculty Handbooks