Miro is a hub for your team, where you can visualize, share and collect ideas. You can use Miro Free plan as long as you want, with as many people as you need!
✏️ Learn more about team and user management on Free plan in this article
When registering a profile, you can create your own free team or join existing teams where you've been invited to or which are discoverable for you
If you're already a member of someone's team but would like to create your own account, you can
- leave the teams you're a member of. Once there're no teams left in your profile, you will be suggested to create your own free team
- create a new paid team by clicking the plus icon on the left sidebar of your dashboard
Unlimited team members
We believe in teamwork, and want to provide the best experience for teams to collaborate without any boundaries or limits. All invited users are automatically added to your team and get access to all boards (no private boards
are allowed on Free plan).
All team members can:
Board access on Free plan
Please note that if you invite other users to collaborate on your Free plan, you are granting access for them to view all
of the boards on your dashboard
. All boards created in a free team get automatically shared with the whole team. Board privacy
within a team is only supported on paid plans.
The team members can create as many boards as they want, all of them will be saved in your account. There is no need to share your boards - they all are visible and available to all the team members.
Please note, that only 3 most recently created boards
in your account are available for editing and collaboration with your team. The rest of the boards in the team are inactive and are locked in a view-only mode. To edit inactive boards you can delete unnecessary active boards (or ask other members to delete their boards), create copies of inactive ones
, or upgrade your account
✏️ If your team includes 3 boards only but they're still locked, check out this article
Dashboard with inactive boards
If the number of boards in the free team is more than 3, when you create a new board you will see the following message with the board name that will be locked:
You are over active boards limit
All team members can upgrade
the free team to any of the paid plans
at any point to get access to Miro advanced features. If you're a small team that would like to get access to more cool collaboration features, feel free to choose Team plan
Free plan vs Team plan
Downgrading to Free plan
Frequently asked questions
- Can I be alone on my free team?
- Yes. Unless you invite new users to the team created by you or to your boards, only you have access to your content. You can see the list of your team members and remove them in Team settings > Active users.
- Can I decide which of the boards will be active in my free team?
- No, those are always the 3 most recently created boards. You can delete unnecessary ones that belong to you (or ask other team members to delete their boards), duplicate inactive boards, or upgrade your team.
- Can I change my board to view-only for my team on Free plan?
- Yes, you can. Though all boards in a free team can be accessed by all team members, you can downgrade team access to viewing only: open the board's Share menu, choose Can view for team access to the board. Note that if you're not the board owner you should be explicitly invited to the board as an editor - otherwise, your access will be limited as well.
Was this article helpful?
Yes, thanks Not really
Return to top