LPC Publishing Practice Awards
The Library Publishing Coalition is excited to announce that we are now accepting applications for the first annual Publishing Practice Awards. These awards are designed to recognize and raise awareness of effective and sustainable library publishing practices.
The Publishing Practice Awards will highlight library publishing programs that exemplify concepts advanced in the LPC’s An Ethical Framework for Library Publishing and/or in the LPC’s Values statement. While a representative publication must be submitted, the focus of these awards is not on publication content but on the process of publishing the piece. The inaugural award categories are:
An award will be available in each category, though an award may not be given out in every category, depending on the application pool. Two additional categories—Innovation and Privacy—will be added in subsequent years. 
Award recipients will be publicly recognized by the Library Publishing Coalition, and will receive a digital seal that they may place on their website and on the publication associated with their winning submission. Awardees will also share their publication process with the wider library publishing community through a post on the  LPC Blog, adapted from their application narrative.
Any library engaged in scholarly publishing can apply for an award. Publishers applying for an award need not be affiliated with an LPC member institution. Each publisher may submit only one application per year, in a single category. 
Applications for the 2021 awards should be submitted via the application form. The deadline for submissions has been extended to January 25, 2021.
Applications will include a link to the published work and a short narrative describing the process the publisher undertook to produce an exemplary publication in the category. The narrative should describe how the publisher met the goals of the author(s) and editor(s) while keeping goals related to Accessibility or to Diversity, Equity and Inclusion at the fore and should highlight any novel techniques or workflows used to accomplish these goals.
Narrative guidelines
Representative publication eligibility
Apply for a Publishing Practice Award
Evaluation Guidelines
Each category will be evaluated separately. Applicants may address other categories in their submitted narrative, but the publication and narrative will be evaluated only according to the evaluation guidelines for the category selected for submission.
The LPC Publishing Practice Award Committee will oversee evaluation. Submissions for each category will be evaluated by a panel consisting of Committee members and independent judges selected by the Committee based on their expertise in that category. Recipients will be announced in the spring, before the Library Publishing Forum.
Below are descriptions of this year’s categories with potential questions specific to each. The questions provide a general framework for evaluating the publication and are not meant to be prescriptive or all-inclusive.
The application narrative should address how and when attention to accessibility was incorporated into the publication process. We are especially interested in processes and publications that push the boundaries of accessibility practice. We also encourage submissions of publications that follow current accessibility best practices. The judges for this category will be asking questions such as: 
Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
The application narrative should address how diversity, equity, and inclusivity considerations were incorporated into the publication process. This includes approaches, activities, or policies which demonstrably increase equity between the historically centered and the historically marginalized, provide inclusive access to a traditionally exclusive space, or increase the diversity of your publishing program. The judges for this category will be asking questions such as: 
Additional Resources
The LPC Publishing Practice Awards Committee held a community call to present details about the awards and answer questions. Resources from that call are included here:
Frequently Asked Questions
Q: Who is eligible to apply for the awards? 
A: Any library or library consortium engaged in scholarly publishing. 
Q: Does the award go to an individual or to their publishing program? 
A: The award is given to the publishing program. 
Q: What is a “representative publication?”
A: Although the award recognizes publishing practice, it does so via a single publication that is used to demonstrate the work of publishing. 
Q: What types of publications are eligible? Is it just for traditional, peer-reviewed scholarly publications? What about digital projects/databases?
A: We use the LPC’s definition of library publishing as a basis for our work (you can see it at the bottom of our home page), but the short answer is that we are taking a very expansive view of what constitutes a “scholarly publication.”  If you consider it a scholarly publication, we would be happy to consider it for the award. 
Q: What about Open Educational Resources?
A: While OERs aren’t typically considered scholarly resources, they are a very important component of library publishing, and we are happy to consider them for this award. 
Q: If my representative publication is a journal, should I submit an article, an issue, a volume, or the whole journal title? 
A: Any of the above! If you can provide a citation to it, it can be submitted for the award. 
Q: LPC’s definition of library publishing refers to “original” scholarship. What about reprints, translations, and other new publications based on existing content? 
A: We welcome applications based on new publications of existing scholarship, especially if the work done on the publication in question involved improvements to accessibility or otherwise furthered the goals of the category. 
Q: How will you evaluate the content of the representative publication? 
A: The short answer is that we won’t. The award is focused on publishing practice, rather than quality or significance of content. That said, publishing practice is a broad area, and may include things like decisions on who to partner with and what types of publications to take on. If you want to apply with a representative publication on the topic of the category you are submitting to (e.g. a book on accessibility), you will need to make the argument in your narrative about how the process of publishing that work also advanced accessibility. 
Q: My program worked hard to incorporate accessibility or DEI into our publishing work, but I’m sure there’s someone else out there who is doing it better! Should I still apply? 
A: Absolutely! We all have work to do in these areas. These awards are not meant to identify the perfect, shining examples of publishing practice, but rather to highlight meaningful work and innovation. Your work may not be perfect, but it can still inform and inspire others!
Q: What if we didn’t do something innovative, but just carefully followed all applicable best practices? Can we still apply? 
A:  Yes! The application of standards and best practices to library publishing is still a work in progress, and we need examples of how it’s being done. 
Q: Can we apply in more than one category?
A: Nope – you can only submit one application per year, in a single category. 
If you have additional questions about the Publishing Practice Awards, please email us at contact@librarypublishing.org​.
2021, Accessibility: University of Texas at Arlington Libraries – Mavs Open Press
2021, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion: University of Cape Town Libraries
Contact Us
© 2021 Educopia Institute | 235 Peachtree Street NE., Suite 400 | Atlanta, Georgia 30303 | (470) 207-8384 | Privacy Policy
Code of ConductContact UsMembersLog In
Skip to contentAboutGet InvolvedForumAwardsDirectoryResourcesBlog