Home  >  News
Filipinos to be repatriated from India, 6 other nations not covered by travel ban: Palace
Posted at Jun 20 2021 02:29 PM
Overseas Filipino Workers (OFWs) are assisted by members of the Overseas Workers Welfare Administration (OWWA) and the Philippine Coast Guard (PCG) at the arrival lobby of the Ninoy Aquino International Airport (NAIA) Terminal 1 in Pasay City on June 3, 2021. George Calvelo, ABS-CBN News
MANILA - Filipinos in India and six other nations who are part of repatriation programs by the government and recruitment agencies may enter the Philippines despite a travel ban covering their host countries, Malacañang said Sunday.
Government had extended until the end of June its travel restrictions upon India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, United Arab Emirates, and Oman in a bid to prevent the entry of the Delta COVID-19 variant first detected in India.
Philippines extends ban on travelers from India, 6 other areas
"Let it be clear, however, that Filipinos covered by the repatriation programs of the government and repatriation activities of manning/recruitment agencies cleared by the Bureau of Quarantine are not prohibited from entering the Philippines," Presidential spokesperson Harry Roque said in a statement.
"They can enter the country, subject to testing and quarantine protocols."
The World Health Organization has classified the Delta variant, first identified in India, as a variant of global concern.
Delta variant doubles risk of COVID-19 hospitalization - study
EXPLAINER: What we know about the Indian coronavirus variant
India's death toll more than doubled to more than 330,000, according to official figures. Many experts suspect the true toll is over a million.
India records world's highest daily COVID-19 deaths after state revises numbers
--With a report from Agence France-Presse
Read More:  India   Delta COVID-19   OFWs   Filipino repatriation   overseas Filipino workers   COVID-19 new variants   Harry Roque   Pakistan   Bangladesh   Sri Lanka  Nepal   United Arab Emirates   Oman  
© 2021 ABS-CBN Corporation. All Rights Reserved.