Home  >  News
Zarate vows to help allies in 19th Congress to push advocacies, fight revisionism
Rowegie Abanto, ABS-CBN News
Posted at May 26 2022 12:52 PM
Zarate vows to help allies in 19th Congress to push advocacies, fight revisionism
Watch more News on iWantTFC
Zarate: Bayan Muna failed to secure a seat in Congress for first time in 20 years
MANILA — Outgoing Bayan Muna Rep. Carlos Zarate said Thursday he will help his allies who secured seats in the incoming 19th Congress to push for their advocacies in the Makabayan bloc and fight revisionism as President-elect Ferdinand "Bongbong" Marcos Jr. assumes power.
"Kasama pa rin tayo diyan, kasama ng iba pa nating kasamahan, na tutulong sa ating tatlong kinatawan diyan sa loob ng Kongreso... para maisulong pa 'yung mga adbokasiya natin, 'yung mga dala-dala nating panukalang batas," Zarate, whose party-list group failed to win a seat in the upcoming Congress, told ABS-CBN's TeleRadyo.
(We're still involved. We will help our three ally representatives in Congress to push for our advocacies and proposed laws.)
Smaller Makabayan bloc in House to remain as opposition in 19th Congress
"But more importantly, para malabanan natin 'yung mga nagtutulak nung mga revisionist at denialist narratives na aasahan natin sa pagpasok ng next administration," he added.
(But more importantly, to fight those who peddle revisionist and denialist narratives that we expect in the next administration.)
Comelec: Winning party-lists to be proclaimed Thursday
Zarate noted that "for the first time after 20 years," his party-list group Bayan Muna failed to get a seat in Congress, saying they fell short of votes.
But his allies in the Makabayan bloc — Gabriela and Kabataan party-lists — were able to win the race and will be proclaimed Thursday.
Comelec says won't proclaim party-lists with pending cases; Gabriela, Kabataan cry foul
Comelec to proclaim Gabriela, Kabataan despite pending cases
ACT Teachers party-list, also a member of the Makabayan bloc, won a seat as well.
EXPLAINER: The math behind the party-list system
--TeleRadyo, May 26, 2022
Read More:  party-list race   party-list   party list   party list representative   party list representatives   party list congressmen   Halalan 2022   Halalan   2022 elections  Philippine elections   eleksyon   eleksyon 2022   polls  politics   Comelec   Commission on Elections   Kabataan party-list   Gabriela   ACT Teachers   Carlos Zarate   19th Congress   Ferdinand Marcos   Bongbong Marcos   Bayan Muna  
© 2022 ABS-CBN Corporation. All Rights Reserved.

Welcome, Kapamilya!
We use cookies to improve your browsing experience.
Continuing to use this site means you agree to our use of cookies.
Tell me more!