ABOUT & CONTACTS
About The Intercept
The Intercept is an award-winning news organization dedicated to holding the powerful accountable through fearless, adversarial journalism. Its in-depth investigations and unflinching analysis focus on politics, war, surveillance, corruption, the environment, technology, criminal justice, the media, and more. The Intercept gives its journalists the editorial freedom and legal support they need to expose corruption and injustice wherever they find it.

Pierre Omidyar, eBay founder and philanthropist, provided the funding to launch The Intercept in 2014. Today, The Intercept is also fueled by the generosity of its members — a community of committed readers who financially support its mission and goals — and institutional contributors who support The Intercept’s mission.

THE INTERCEPT IS A DIVISION OF FIRST LOOK INSTITUTE
Become a member
The kind of journalism we do is costly, and readers’ support keeps The Intercept strong and independent. We established our membership program to make it easy for you to invest in courageous, quality reporting you can trust. Please click here to become a member. If you need to cancel your donation, update your credit card information, or adjust your donation amount, you can email us at membership@theintercept.com​.

If you have questions about our membership program or about making a donation, please read these frequently asked questions.
Contact us
PRESS
Are you a member of the press? Send all questions and requests for comments to both Rodrigo Brandão and Schuyler Mitchell.
LEGAL
If you have a legal question, contact our legal team.
SUBMISSIONS
We welcome pitches from freelance contributors. See How to Pitch to The Intercept for detailed instructions.
WORK WITH US
Interested in joining The Intercept team? View our job listings.
PERMISSIONS
To republish or translate our work, see Editorial Policies.
MEMBERSHIP
If you have a membership question, contact our membership team.
STAFF
Roger Hodge
Acting Editor-in-Chief
Roger D. Hodge is an editor and writer based in New York City. 
roger.hodge@theintercept.com
Sam Biddle
Technology Reporter
Sam Biddle is a reporter focusing on malfeasance and misused power in technology. 
sam.biddle@theintercept.com
Daniel Boguslaw
Politics Reporter
Daniel Boguslaw is an investigative reporter focusing on corruption at the highest levels of government and industry. 
daniel.boguslaw@theintercept.com
David Bralow
Senior Vice President, Law at First Look Institute
David Bralow is a media law lawyer and educator located in New York. 
david.bralow@theintercept.com
Rodrigo Brandão
Senior Director, Communications and Strategy
Rodrigo Brandão is a communications professional and media strategist based in New York City. 
rodrigo.brandao@theintercept.com
Thomas Crowley
Membership Communications Manager, First Look Institute
Thomas Crowley leads communications for The Intercept’s membership program and is based in New York. 
thomas.crowley@theintercept.com
Ryan Devereaux
Reporter
Ryan Devereaux is an investigative journalist based in Tucson, Arizona. 
ryan.devereaux@theintercept.com
Lee Fang
Investigative Reporter
Lee Fang is a journalist with a long-standing interest in how public policy is influenced by organized interest groups and money. 
lee.fang@theintercept.com
Lauren Feeney
Director, Video Production
Lauren Feeney is a video journalist whose reporting has focused on poverty and human rights in the U.S. and abroad. 
lauren.feeney@theintercept.com
Laura Flynn
Supervising Producer, TI Podcasts
Laura Flynn is an audio producer and reporter. 
laura.flynn@theintercept.com
Vanessa Gezari
National Security Editor
Vanessa Gezari is an editor and writer based in New York. 
vanessa.gezari@theintercept.com
Ali Gharib
Senior News Editor
Ali Gharib is a Brooklyn-based journalist. 
ali.gharib@theintercept.com
Ryan Grim
D.C. Bureau Chief
Ryan Grim is an editor based in Washington whose work has focused on influence and corruption. 
ryan.grim@theintercept.com
Akil Harris
Senior Research Engineer, First Look Institute
Akil Harris is a senior research engineer at First Look Media. 
akil.harris@firstlook.org
Maia Hibbett
Associate Editor
Maia Hibbett is an editor and writer based in Brooklyn. 
maia.hibbett@theintercept.com
Philipp Hubert
Creative Director
Philipp Hubert is a graphic designer who has worked with a global client base on publishing, arts, and culture products. 
philipp.hubert@theintercept.com
Murtaza Hussain
Reporter
Murtaza Hussain is a national security reporter. 
murtaza.hussain@theintercept.com
Mara Hvistendahl
Investigative Reporter
Mara Hvistendahl is a journalist focused on national security, technology, and China. 
mara.hvistendahl@theintercept.com
Andrea Jones
Senior Editor
Andrea Jones is an editor focused on criminal justice, reproductive rights, immigration, and the environment. 
andrea.jones@theintercept.com
Ken Klippenstein
Investigative Reporter
Ken Klippenstein is a D.C.-based investigative reporter focusing on national security. 
ken.klippenstein@theintercept.com
Rashmee Kumar
Deputy Managing Editor
Rashmee Kumar is a journalist based in New York. 
rashmee.kumar@theintercept.com
Akela Lacy
Politics Reporter
Akela Lacy is a journalist based in New York. 
akela.lacy@theintercept.com
Micah Lee
Director of Information Security
Micah Lee is a technologist with a focus on operational security, source protection, privacy, and cryptography. 
micah.lee@theintercept.com
Peter Maass
Senior Editor
Peter Maass is a senior editor who writes on war, media, and national security. 
peter.maass@theintercept.com
Miroslav Macala
Manager, Strategic Operations
Miroslav Macala is a New York-based manager focusing on strategic business operations, originally from the Czech Republic. 
miroslav.macala@theintercept.com
Robert Mackey
Senior Writer
Robert Mackey is a reporter and columnist focused on mining social networks for evidence of news events. 
robert.mackey@theintercept.com
Travis Mannon
Video Producer
Travis Mannon is a video producer based in Brooklyn. 
travis.mannon@theintercept.com
Schuyler Mitchell
Communications and Administrative Associate
Schuyler Mitchell is a communications professional based in Los Angeles. 
schuyler.mitchell@theintercept.com
Leandro Oliva
Director of Digital Operations
Leandro Oliva is a product and audience engagement strategist based in New York City. 
leandro.oliva@theintercept.com
José Olivares
Lead Producer, TI Podcasts
José Olivares is an audio producer and reporter based in Brooklyn. 
jose.olivares@theintercept.com
Nausicaa Renner
Deputy Editor
Nausicaa Renner is an editor and writer based in Washington, D.C. 
nausicaa.renner@theintercept.com
James Risen
Senior National Security Correspondent
James Risen is a journalist based in Washington, D.C. 
jim.risen@firstlook.org
Alyxaundria Sanford
Audience Engagement Producer
Alyxaundria Sanford is an audience engagement producer based in Brooklyn, New York. 
alyxaundria.sanford@theintercept.com
Jeremy Scahill
Senior Correspondent and Editor-at-Large
Jeremy Scahill is an investigative reporter and war correspondent. 
jeremy.scahill@theintercept.com
Jon Schwarz
Senior Writer
Jon Schwarz is a writer based in Brooklyn. 
jon.schwarz@theintercept.com
Liliana Segura
Senior Reporter
Liliana Segura is a journalist and editor with a longtime focus on the failings and excesses of the U.S. criminal justice system. 
liliana.segura@theintercept.com
Michael Sherrard
Membership Director, First Look Institute
Michael Sherrard is a digital organizer and fundraiser based in Washington, D.C. 
michael.sherrard@theintercept.com
Nara Shin
Senior Copy Editor
Nara Shin is a journalist based in New York City. 
nara.shin@theintercept.com
Jordan Smith
Senior Reporter
Jordan Smith is an award-winning investigative journalist based in Austin, Texas. 
jordan.smith@theintercept.com
Alice Speri
Reporter
Alice Speri writes about U.S. foreign policy, abuses by military and security forces, and the repression of dissent. 
alice.speri@theintercept.com
Elise Swain
Photo Editor
Elise Swain is a multimedia journalist based in New York City. 
elise.swain@theintercept.com
Margot Williams
Research Editor for Investigations
Margot Williams is a journalist and research editor who was part of two Pulitzer Prize-winning teams at the Washington Post. 
margot.williams@theintercept.com
Zach Young
Lead Producer, TI Podcasts
Zach Young is a podcast producer based in Washington, D.C. 
zach.young@theintercept.com
About First Look Institute
The Intercept is a publication of First Look Institute. Launched in 2013 by eBay founder and philanthropist Pierre Omidyar, First Look Institute is a multi-platform media company devoted to supporting independent voices, from fearless investigative journalism and documentary filmmaking to arts, culture, media and entertainment. First Look Institute produces and distributes content in a wide range of forms including feature films, short-form video, podcasts, interactive media and long-form journalism, for its own digital properties and with partners.
ABOUT
POLICIES AND REPORTS
BECOME A SOURCE
JOIN NEWSLETTER
BECOME A MEMBER
TERMS OF USE
PRIVACY
SECUREDROP
© FIRST LOOK INSTITUTE. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED
Stand with The Intercept
Journalism that takes on the wealthy and powerful isn’t cheap — and we need to raise $500,000 by September 30.
Become a member and help power our independent nonprofit journalism today.
$15$25$50$100
ONE-TIME
MONTHLY
DONATE NOW
×TheIntercept_ENGLISHPORTUGUÊSPOLITICSJUSTICENATIONAL SECURITYWORLDTECHNOLOGYENVIRONMENTSPECIAL INVESTIGATIONSVOICESPODCASTSVIDEOSDOCUMENTSBECOME A MEMBER⟶ABOUTPOLICIES AND REPORTSBECOME A SOURCEJOIN NEWSLETTERftTERMS OF USEPRIVACY