ABOUT & CONTACTS
About The Intercept
The Intercept is an award-winning news organization dedicated to holding the powerful accountable through fearless, adversarial journalism. Its in-depth investigations and unflinching analysis focus on politics, war, surveillance, corruption, the environment, technology, criminal justice, the media, and more. The Intercept gives its journalists the editorial freedom and legal support they need to expose corruption and injustice wherever they find it.

EBay founder and philanthropist Pierre Omidyar provided the funding to launch The Intercept and continues to support it through First Look Media Works, a nonprofit organization.
THE INTERCEPT IS A FIRST LOOK MEDIA COMPANY.
Become a member
The kind of journalism we do is costly, and readers’ support keeps The Intercept strong and independent. We established our membership program to make it easy for you to invest in courageous, quality reporting you can trust. Please click here to become a member.

If you have questions about our membership program or about making a donation, please read these frequently asked questions.
Contact us
PRESS
Are you a member of the press? Contact our media team.
LEGAL
If you have a legal question, contact our legal team.
SUBMISSIONS
We welcome pitches from freelance contributors. See How to Pitch to The Intercept for detailed instructions.
WORK WITH US
Interested in joining The Intercept team? View our job listings.
PERMISSIONS
To republish or translate our work, see Editorial Policies.
MEMBERSHIP
If you have a membership question, contact our membership team.
STAFF
Paul Abowd
Video Producer
Paul Abowd is a journalist and filmmaker based in Washington, D.C. 
paul.abowd@theintercept.com
Sam Biddle
Technology Reporter
Sam Biddle is a reporter focusing on malfeasance and misused power in technology. 
sam.biddle@theintercept.com
David Bralow
Senior Vice President, Law at First Look Institute
David Bralow is a media law lawyer and educator located in New York. 
david.bralow@theintercept.com
Rodrigo Brandão
Senior Director, Communications and Strategy
Rodrigo Brandão is a communications professional and media strategist based in New York City. 
rodrigo.brandao@theintercept.com
Alleen Brown
Reporter
Alleen Brown is New York-based reporter, focused on environmental justice issues. 
alleen.brown@theintercept.com
Soohee Cho
Designer
Soohee Cho is a graphic designer based in New York and originally from South Korea. 
soohee.cho@theintercept.com
Matthew Cole
National Security Reporter
Matthew Cole is an investigative journalist covering national security and U.S. involvement in foreign conflicts. 
matthew.cole@theintercept.com
Thomas Crowley
Senior Coordinator, Operations & Events, First Look Institute
Thomas Crowley leads operations for The Intercept’s membership program and is based in New York. 
thomas.crowley@theintercept.com
Ryan Devereaux
Reporter
Ryan Devereaux is an investigative journalist covering criminal justice, immigration enforcement and national security. 
ryan.devereaux@theintercept.com
Jack D’Isidoro
Lead Producer, Intercepted
Jack D’Isidoro is an audio producer based in Brooklyn. 
jack.disidoro@theintercept.com
Lee Fang
Investigative Reporter
Lee Fang is a journalist with a long-standing interest in how public policy is influenced by organized interest groups and money. 
lee.fang@theintercept.com
Lauren Feeney
Director, Video Production
Lauren Feeney is a video journalist whose reporting has focused on poverty and human rights in the U.S. and abroad. 
lauren.feeney@theintercept.com
Laura Flynn
Supervising Producer, TI Podcasts
Laura Flynn is an audio producer and reporter. 
laura.flynn@theintercept.com
Vanessa Gezari
National Security Editor
Vanessa Gezari is an editor and writer based in New York. 
vanessa.gezari@theintercept.com
Ali Gharib
Senior News Editor
Ali Gharib is a Brooklyn-based journalist. 
ali.gharib@theintercept.com
Ryan Grim
D.C. Bureau Chief
Ryan Grim is an editor based in Washington whose work has focused on influence and corruption. 
ryan.grim@theintercept.com
Akil Harris
Senior Research Engineer, First Look Institute
Akil Harris is a senior research engineer at First Look Media. 
akil.harris@firstlook.org
Maia Hibbett
Associate Editor
Maia Hibbett is an editor and writer based in Brooklyn. 
maia.hibbett@theintercept.com
Roger Hodge
Deputy Editor
Roger D. Hodge is an editor and writer based in New York City. 
roger.hodge@theintercept.com
Philipp Hubert
Creative Director
Philipp Hubert is a graphic designer who has worked with a global client base on publishing, arts, and culture products. 
philipp.hubert@theintercept.com
Murtaza Hussain
Reporter
Murtaza Hussain is a national security reporter. 
murtaza.hussain@theintercept.com
Mara Hvistendahl
Investigative Reporter
Mara Hvistendahl is a journalist focused on national security, technology, and China. 
mara.hvistendahl@theintercept.com
Andrea Jones
Senior Editor
Andrea Jones is an editor focused on criminal justice, immigration, and the environment. 
andrea.jones@theintercept.com
Ken Klippenstein
Investigative Reporter
Ken Klippenstein is a D.C.-based investigative reporter focusing on national security. 
ken.klippenstein@theintercept.com
Rashmee Kumar
Deputy Managing Editor
Rashmee Kumar is a journalist based in New York. 
rashmee.kumar@theintercept.com
Akela Lacy
Politics Reporter
Akela Lacy is a journalist based in New York. 
akela.lacy@theintercept.com
Micah Lee
Director of Information Security
Micah Lee is a technologist with a focus on operational security, source protection, privacy, and cryptography. 
micah.lee@theintercept.com
Sharon Lerner
Investigative Reporter
Sharon Lerner is an investigative reporter based in New York City, focusing on health and the environment. 
sharon.lerner@theintercept.com
Peter Maass
Senior Editor
Peter Maass has written about war, media, and national security for a variety of outlets. 
peter.maass@theintercept.com
Miroslav Macala
Manager, Strategic Operations
Miroslav Macala is a New York-based manager focusing on strategic business operations, originally from the Czech Republic. 
miroslav.macala@theintercept.com
Robert Mackey
Senior Writer
Robert Mackey is a reporter and columnist focused on mining social networks for evidence of news events. 
robert.mackey@theintercept.com
Travis Mannon
Video Producer
Travis Mannon is a video producer based in Brooklyn. 
travis.mannon@theintercept.com
Schuyler Mitchell
Communications and Administrative Associate
Schuyler Mitchell is a communications professional based in Los Angeles. 
schuyler.mitchell@theintercept.com
Kay Murray
Vice President, Law, First Look Institute
Kay Murray is an in-house legal adviser for The Intercept, Field of Vision, and the Press Freedom Defense Fund. 
kay.murray@theintercept.com
Marguerite Nutter
Associate Director, Revenue and Membership, First Look Institute
Marguerite Nutter focuses on member development and engagement and is based in Washington, D.C. 
marguerite.nutter@firstlook.org
Leandro Oliva
Director of Digital Operations
Leandro Oliva is a product and audience engagement strategist based in New York City. 
leandro.oliva@theintercept.com
Betsy Reed
Editor-in-Chief
Betsy Reed is an editor based in New York City. 
betsy.reed@theintercept.com
Nausicaa Renner
Washington Editor
Nausicaa Renner is an editor and writer based in Washington, D.C. 
nausicaa.renner@theintercept.com
James Risen
Senior National Security Correspondent
James Risen is a journalist based in Washington, D.C. 
jim.risen@firstlook.org
Maryam Saleh
Features Editor
Maryam Saleh is an editor and reporter based in Washington, D.C., whose work focuses on immigration, criminal justice, and politics. 
maryam.saleh@theintercept.com
Alyxaundria Sanford
Audience Engagement Producer
Alyxaundria Sanford is an audience engagement producer based in Brooklyn, New York. 
alyxaundria.sanford@theintercept.com
Jeremy Scahill
Senior Correspondent and Editor-at-Large
Jeremy Scahill is an investigative reporter and war correspondent. 
jeremy.scahill@theintercept.com
Jon Schwarz
Senior Writer
Jon Schwarz is a writer based in Brooklyn. 
jon.schwarz@theintercept.com
Liliana Segura
Senior Reporter
Liliana Segura is a journalist and editor with a longtime focus on the failings and excesses of the U.S. criminal justice system. 
liliana.segura@theintercept.com
Michael Sherrard
Membership Director, First Look Institute
Michael Sherrard is a digital organizer and fundraiser based in Washington, D.C. 
michael.sherrard@theintercept.com
Sara Sirota
Politics Reporter
Sara Sirota is a journalist based in Washington, D.C. 
sara.sirota@theintercept.com
W. Paul Smith
Investigative Researcher
W. Paul Smith is a researcher and writer based in New York. 
paul.smith@theintercept.com
Jordan Smith
Senior Reporter
Jordan Smith is an award-winning investigative journalist based in Austin, Texas. 
jordan.smith@theintercept.com
Sunny Sone
Copy Editor/Digital Producer
Sunny Sone is an editor and writer based in Austin, Texas. 
sunny.sone@theintercept.com
Alice Speri
Reporter
Alice Speri reports on justice, immigration, and civil rights. She is originally from Italy and lives in the Bronx. 
alice.speri@theintercept.com
Elise Swain
Photo Editor
Elise Swain is a multimedia journalist based in New York City. 
elise.swain@theintercept.com
Ryan Tate
Technology Editor
Ryan Tate has written about the use, abuse, and subversion of corporate power in the technology sector and beyond. 
ryan.tate@theintercept.com
Margot Williams
Research Editor for Investigations
Margot Williams is a journalist and research editor who was part of two Pulitzer Prize-winning teams at the Washington Post. 
margot.williams@theintercept.com
Zach Young
Lead Producer, Deconstructed
Zach Young is a podcast producer based in Washington, D.C. 
zach.young@theintercept.com
About First Look Media
The Intercept is a publication of First Look Media. Launched in 2013 by eBay founder and philanthropist Pierre Omidyar, First Look Media is a multi-platform media company devoted to supporting independent voices, from fearless investigative journalism and documentary filmmaking to arts, culture, media and entertainment. First Look Media produces and distributes content in a wide range of forms including feature films, short-form video, podcasts, interactive media and long-form journalism, for its own digital properties and with partners.
ABOUT
POLICIES AND REPORTS
BECOME A SOURCE
JOIN NEWSLETTER
STAND WITH THE INTERCEPT
TERMS OF USE
PRIVACY
SECUREDROP
© FIRST LOOK MEDIA. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

STAND WITH
THE INTERCEPT
Reader support enables us to take on ambitious investigations. This reporting is not easy, cheap, or profitable. There are no advertisers clamoring for more stories about dystopian surveillance or corporate corruption.
The goal for our biannual membership campaign is $400,000 in reader support by June 30. Can you chip in?
DONATE NOW
TheIntercept_ENGLISHPORTUGUÊSPOLITICSJUSTICENATIONAL SECURITYWORLDTECHNOLOGYENVIRONMENTSPECIAL INVESTIGATIONSVOICESPODCASTSVIDEOSDOCUMENTSBECOME A MEMBER⟶ABOUTPOLICIES AND REPORTSBECOME A SOURCEJOIN NEWSLETTERftTERMS OF USEPRIVACY