86 captures
13 Jun 2005 - 26 Oct 2015
About this capture
The Encyclopædia Britannica Editorial Board of Advisors
For any organization that aspires to take all human knowledge, organize it, summarize it, and publish it in a form that people find useful, the challenges and opportunities have never been greater than they are today. The volume of information is exploding, the world is shrinking, and digital media are changing the way we read, think, and learn.
To meet these challenges and opportunities, Britannica has done what we have always done throughout our 237-year history: sought the very best minds in the world to help us.
In the past, they had names like Albert Einstein, Sigmund Freud, Marie Curie, Bertrand Russell, T.H. Huxley, and George Bernard Shaw, all of whom were Britannica contributors in their day.
Today they are the men and women of Britannica's Editorial Board of Advisors—the Nobel laureates and Pulitzer Prize winners, the leading scholars, writers, artists, public servants, and activists who are at the top of their fields. They meet regularly to share ideas, to debate, and to argue, in a unique collegium whose purpose is to understand today's world so that the resulting encyclopedia can be the best there is. We are proud to be associated with these exceptional people, and we are deeply grateful for their contributions, not only to our own publishing objectives but to the larger cause of promoting knowledge in the world today.
Rosalía ArteagaSecretary-General, Amazon Cooperation Treaty Organization; former President and former Vice President, Republic of Ecuador
David BaltimoreNobel laureate & President, California Institute of Technology
Wendy DonigerMircea Eliade Distinguished Service Professor of the History of Religions, University of Chicago
Benjamin M. FriedmanWilliam Joseph Maier Professor of Political Economy, Harvard University
Leslie H. GelbPresident Emeritus, Council on Foreign Relations & winner of the Pulitzer Prize
Murray Gell-MannNobel laureate, Professor Emeritus, California Institute of Technology, and Distinguished Fellow, Sante Fe Institute
Vartan GregorianPresident, Carnegie Corporation; former President, Brown University; former President, New York Public Library
Zaha HadidLaureate, Pritzker Architecture Prize & Principal, Zaha Hadid Architects
James M. McPhersonProfessor Emeritus, Princeton University & winner of the Pulitzer Prize
Thomas NagelUniversity Professor, New York University
Donald NormanAuthor; Cofounder, Nielsen Norman Group & Professor of Computer Science, Northwestern University
Don Michael RandelPresident, University of Chicago
Amartya SenNobel laureate &Lamont; University Professor and Professor of Economics and Philosophy, Harvard University
Wole SoyinkaNobel laureate, author, human-rights activist
Lord Sutherland of HoundwoodPresident of the Royal Society of Edinburgh
© 2005 Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc.  
About the Editorial BoardRosalía ArteagaDavid BaltimoreWendy DonigerBenjamin M. FriedmanLeslie H. GelbMurray Gell-MannVartan GregorianZaha HadidJames M. McPhersonThomas NagelDonald NormanDon Michael RandelAmartya SenWole SoyinkaLord Sutherland of Houndwood