6 captures
23 Oct 2007 - 29 Jul 2008
About this capture

Already a member?
Encyclopædia Britannica - the Online Encyclopedia
Home | Blog | Advocacy  | Board | Newsletters | International  | StoreFree Trial
Content Related to
this Topic
This Article's
Table of Contents
Expand all
The land
Drainage and soils
Plant and animal life
Settlement patterns
The people
The economy
Industry and tourism
Agriculture and fishing
Government and social conditions
Health and welfare
Cultural life
Additional Reading
Print this Table of Contents

New! 2007 Encyclopædia Britannica Print Set
Revised, updated, and still unrivaled.

2008 Britannica Ultimate DVD/CD-ROM
The world's premier software reference source.

Great Books of the Western World
The greatest written works in one magnificent collection.
Visit Britannica Store
Encyclopædia Britannica Article
Page  12  of  22 

Government and social conditions > Government
The 1964 Independence Constitution, under which Malta was a constitutional monarchy and parliamentary state, was amended in 1974 to make Malta a republic within the Commonwealth. Its head of state is a president appointed by the Maltese Parliament, which is elected by universal adult suffrage for a term of five years and is basically derived from the British model. Local features include a single chamber with 69 members, while election is by proportional representation from 13 electoral divisions. An amendment adopted in 1987 guarantees a majority of seats to a party receiving more than 50 percent of the total votes in the general election. The two major parties are the Nationalist Party and the Malta Labour Party. The president acts on the advice of the Cabinet, which consists of the prime minister and other ministers (some assisted by parliamentary secretaries) and is collectively responsible to Parliament. There is no municipal government in the islands.

Maltese law, which was codified mainly during the period from 1854 to 1873, is largely based on the Napoleonic Code and Napoleonic law. Procedural common law and some commercial and maritime affairs are regulated by English principles, but judiciary precedent is not binding. Maltese is the language of the courts. Civil and criminal jurisdiction is almost exclusively vested in the Superior Court and the Court of Magistrates. The chief justice and judges of the Superior Court are appointed by the president on the advice of the prime minister, and their duties are apportioned throughout the court system. The magistrates, who are appointed in the same way, sit in the lower courts.
Between 1964 and 1972, Malta's main defense dispositions were those contained in a 1964 Anglo-Maltese defense agreement, with the United Kingdom guaranteeing mutual assistance. Since then, through a constitutional amendment, Malta has followed a policy of neutrality and nonalignment and maintains its own regular armed forces.
Previous PagePage 12 of 22Next Page

To cite this page:
MLA style:
"Malta." Encyclopædia Britannica. 2007. Encyclopædia Britannica Online. 23 Oct. 2007  <​​>.
APA style:
Malta. (2007). In Encyclopædia Britannica. Retrieved October 23, 2007, from Encyclopædia Britannica Online:
Back to top
Find more about "Malta :: Government " instantly with Live Search.

More from Britannica on "Malta :: Government"...
92 Encyclopædia Britannica articles, from the full 32 volume encyclopedia
Throughout 2006 the problem of illegal immigrants landing in Malta became more acute. Conditions in detention centres suffered, which triggered protests, an uprising, and two mass breakouts from the centres. The issue had been raised at the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting held in Malta in November 2005. At the conclusion of the summit, which included a state ...
On July 6, 2005, the Maltese parliament unanimously ratified the European Union constitution. The opposition Labour Party, however, stated that its vote was conditioned to five reservations, one of which was meant to ensure Malta's neutrality. Meanwhile, the government announced its plan to entrench in the Maltese constitution the law prohibiting abortion. Shortly after ...
The republic of Malta, a member of the Commonwealth, comprises the islands of Malta, Gozo, and Comino in the Mediterranean Sea between Sicily and Tunisia. Area: 316 sq km (122 sq mi). Pop. (1994 est.): 368,000. Cap.: Valletta. Monetary unit: Maltese lira, with (Oct. 7, 1994) an official rate of 0.37 lira to U.S. $1 (0.58 lira = £1 sterling). Presidents in 1994, Censu ...
The republic of Malta, a member of the Commonwealth, comprises the islands of Malta, Gozo, and Comino in the Mediterranean Sea between Sicily and Tunisia. Area: 316 sq km (122 sq mi). Pop. (1995 est.): 370,000. Cap.: Valletta. Monetary unit: Maltese lira, with (Oct. 6, 1995) a free rate of 0.35 lira to U.S. $1 (0.56 lira = £1 sterling). President in 1995, Ugo Mifsud ...
Area: 316 sq km (122 sq mi)
More results >
8 Student Encyclopedia Britannica articles, specially written for elementary and high school students
An island country, Malta is located in the central Mediterranean Sea 58 miles (93 kilometers) south of Sicily. Covering an area of 122 square miles (316 square kilometers), the country consists of five islands—Malta (the largest), Gozo, and Comino, which are inhabited, and the uninhabited islands of Cominotto and Filfla. The capital and chief port is Valletta, located on ...
With about 7 percent of the world's land area, Europe is the second smallest continent on Earth, after Australia. It occupies part of the Eurasian landmass, from the Atlantic Ocean in the west to the Ural Mountains in the east. Europe also includes many islands and archipelagoes, among them Novaya Zemlya, Iceland, the British Isles, Corsica, Sardinia, Sicily, Crete, ...
Vice-President of the United States
   from the LYNDON B. JOHNSON article
Johnson was a candidate for the presidential nomination in 1960, but he accepted second place on the ticket with John F. Kennedy. His vigorous campaign through the Southern states is credited with winning the 81 Southern electoral votes cast for the Democrats in the election. Johnson was reelected to the Senate at the same time he was chosen vice-president. He resigned ...
Growth of the Commonwealth
   from the Commonwealth, the article
Commonwealth membership continued to grow as former dependencies attained sovereignty. Ghana and Malaya joined in 1957; Nigeria, 1960; and Cyprus, Sierra Leone, and Tanganyika, 1961. South Africa left in 1961 after other members condemned its racial policies. Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, and Uganda joined in 1962. In 1963 the Federation of Malaysia (Malaya, Singapore, ...
Marlowe, Christopher
(1564–93). The term Elizabethan drama quickly brings to mind the name of William Shakespeare. Christopher Marlowe was a dramatist of the same period and Shakespeare's most significant predecessor. In his earliest play, the two-part drama ‘Tamburlaine the Great' (about 1587), Marlowe established blank verse as the medium for later dramatic writing. Based on the life of ...
More articles >
About Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Legal Notices | Contact Us | Britannica Store | Britannica Concise | Syndication | International Publishing | Webmaster | Advertise with Us | Partner with Us | RSS Feed:
Other Britannica sites: Australia | France | India | Korea | Taiwan | United Kingdom | More Britannica Sites | DictionaryThesaurus | Encyclopedia
© 2007 Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc.