1 capture
16 Jan 2010
About this capture

New Executive Board member to be appointed next year

The General Council’s selection of a new Deputy Governor to the Executive Board of the Riksbank will be made in early 2009.
The process of appointing a new Deputy Governor to succeed Irma Rosenberg, who leaves the Riksbank on 31 December 2008, is under way. However, it will not be possible to have a new Executive Board member in place with effect from 1 January 2009. Nor is it likely that a new member will have taken up office in time to participate at the monetary policy meeting to be held on 10 February 2009. “Of course we wish to find the best-qualified candidate possible and we wish to take a little more time to ensure we have the most suitable candidate. However, we are confident that we will be able to present a new Executive Board member in January or February next year,” say Chairman of the General Council Johan Gernandt and Vice Chairman Leif Pagrotsky in a joint comment.
The Executive Board of the Riksbank consists of six members who are appointed for periods of office of six years. The other members of the Board are Governor Stefan Ingves and Deputy Governors Lars Nyberg, Svante Öberg, Barbro Wickman-Parak and Lars E.O. Svensson.
Press Release: New Executive Board member to be appointed next year | 69 Kb

Johan Gernandt, Chairman of the General Council, tel. +46-(0)73-415 26 01 and

General Secretariat

103 37 Stockholm Brunkebergstorg 11 Phone +46 8 787 00 00 Fax +46 8 21 05 31 Email registratorn@riksbank.se Press contact +46 8 787 02 00
The RiksbankInterest & exchange ratesNotes & coinsMonetary policyFinancial stabilityPress & publishedResearch
Press Press Releases Notices Debate articles Press Office Press photos Speeches Economic Commentaries Reports Articles and boxes Minutes of the Executive Board's monetary policy meetings Brochures about the Riksbank EMU-related information Brochures on notes & coins Consultations Statistics Subscribe via RSS