252 captures
2 Mar 2001 - 8 Feb 2017
About this capture
The State Department web site below is a permanent electronic archive of information released prior to January 20, 2001.  Please see www.state.gov for material released since President George W. Bush took office on that date.  This site is not updated so external links may no longer function.  Contact us with any questions about finding information.
NOTE: External links to other Internet sites should not be construed as an endorsement of the views contained therein.
U.S. Department of State
Office of the Spokesman
Press Statement

Media Note
October 31, 2000
"U.S. Embassy for the New Millennium" Student Design Competition Winners
With over 1,500 students participating from 125 schools of architecture across North America, the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture announced on August 3, 2000, the winning submissions in the 1999-2000 "U.S. Embassy for the New Millennium" student design competition, sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Office of Foreign Buildings Operations (FBO).
Recognized by President and Mrs. Clinton as a White House Millennium Partner Project, the competition asked students to examine the American embassy as a unique building type and propose design solutions for one of four sites around the world. Students were encouraged to combine an understanding of their democratic heritage with forward-thinking designs and building technology.
The overwhelming interest of architecture faculty and students in the competition indicates that the public remains fascinated by American embassies abroad. "Our goal was to both raise and answer some questions about U.S. embassies," said Jeffrey Jay Osmond, FBO project manager. "Diplomacy is all about representing the U.S. in a variety of methods, and few are more important or visible than our building projects in other countries."
The competition jury included: Cynthia Weese, Dean, School of Architecture, Washington University; Gary Haney, Principal, Skidmore, Owens and Merrill Architectural Firm, New York; and members of the FBO Architecture Advisory Board: Frances Halsband, Donlyn Lyndon, Jack Hartray, and Peter Rolland. Nancy Wilkie and Patrick Collins of FBO also served as jurors. Melissa Weese Goodill of the University of Maryland oversaw the evaluation of the Presentation Drawing submissions. Jane Loeffler, author of "The Architecture of Diplomacy," served as a historical advisor to the jury.
Student winners and their schools will receive cash prizes totaling more than $10,000. A Grand Prize was selected from the seven finalists, which were each awarded Merit Citations. First, second, and third places, as well as honorable mentions, were awarded in the Presentation Drawing category.
Grand Prize:
Darin Bell
"U.S. Embassy - Kingston, Jamaica"
University of Oregon
Faculty sponsor: John Cava
Merit Awards:
Joel A. Aviles
Southern Polytechnic State University
Faculty sponsor: Ameen Farooq
Eric Heidel "U.S. Embassy - Uganda"
Drexel University
Faculty sponsor: Don Jones, AIA
Joleen Collins and Reggie Stump
"U.S. Embassy for the New Millennium in Jamaica"
Drury University
Faculty sponsor: Alkis Tsolakis
Richard Van Zeyl
"Embassy in a Box"
Georgia Institute of Technology
Faculty sponsor: Harris Dimitropolis
Daniel Abbott, Jessica Andrews, Colby Eiermann, and Jenn Grimes
"U.S. Embassy: The Republic of Croatia - A New Vision of Democracy"
University of Oregon
Faculty sponsors: Bill Gilland and Kenny Helphand
Kenneth Scott Melancon
"U.S. Embassy in South Korea"
Louisiana State University
Faculty sponsor: Julian T. White
Drawing Submissions
First Place:
Myron Chase, Brandon Gibson, and Robert Love
"Embassy for the New Millennium"
Kansas State University
Faculty sponsor: Wendy Ornelas, AIA
Second Place:
Cathleen Austin, Dan Van Calcar, and Katrin Mahler
"Kimbaombao Kiduta/Lizard Hill"
University of Oregon
Faculty sponsors: Bill Gilland and Kenny Helphand
Third Place:
Darin Bell
"U.S. Embassy - Kingston, Jamaica"
University of Oregon
Faculty sponsor: John Cava
Honorable Mentions:
Aryan Omar
Cornell University
Faculty sponsor: David J. Lewis
Brendan Beachler, Beth Dawson, Nigel Joseph, Justin Moore, and Karlene Morgan
University of Florida
Faculty sponsor: Alfonso Perez-Mendez
Ryan Gobuty
California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
Faculty sponsor: Thomas Fowler IV
The Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) is a non-profit membership organization, founded in 1912 to advance the quality of architectural education. The Office of Foreign Buildings Operations is part of the U.S. Department of State's Bureau of Administration. FBO's mission is to provide adequate, safe, secure, and functional facilities for people in U.S. diplomatic and consular missions abroad. The White House Millennium Council was founded by President and Mrs. Clinton in 1997 to encourage all Americans to participate in meaningful activities to mark the new millennium.
[end of document]
Press Statements Index | Digital Diplomacy for Students Homepage | Department of State | Secretary of State