9 captures
12 Jun 2010 - 22 Mar 2016
About this capture
King Abdullah names members of the Allegiance Commission
December 10, 2007
Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz yesterday issued a royal decree naming 35 members of the Saudi royal family to the Allegiance Commission.
The Allegiance Commission was established as part of a new law of succession announced in October 2006 to formalize the royal succession and ensure a smooth transfer of power. Under the new system, the King will nominate a Crown Prince, and the Allegiance Commission will vote on the candidate. Previously, the King had the sole right to select the Crown Prince.
The newly named members of the Commission are all sons and grandsons of the Kingdom’s founder, King Abdulaziz Al-Saud.
King Abdullah met with the Commission members last night in Riyadh, where they swore an oath of allegiance to him.
In remarks on the occasion, King Abdullah called on them to heed the advice of the late founder of Saudi Arabia.
“King Abdulaziz had urged us to become God fearing people and to enhance the pillars of justice, and to close our ranks, and to settle any difference through discussion and dialogue in a transparent manner, and not to allow anyone to interfere in our special affairs,” King Abdullah said. “I am confident that you are aware of this and will follow it.”
The 35 members of the Allegiance Commission are: Prince Mishaal bin Abdulaziz; Prince Abdulrahman bin Abdulaziz; Prince Miteb bin Abdulaziz; Prince Talal bin Abdulaziz; Prince Badr bin Abdulaziz; Prince Turki bin Abdulaziz; Prince Nayef bin Abdulaziz; Prince Fawaz bin Abdulaziz; Prince Salman bin Abdulaziz; Prince Mamdouh bin Abdulaziz; Prince Abdul-Illah bin Abdulaziz; Prince Sattam bin Abdulaziz; Prince Ahmad bin Abdulaziz; Prince Mash’hoor bin Abdulaziz; Prince Hazloul bin Adulaziz; Prince Muqrin bin Abdulaziz; Prince Mohammed bin Saud; Prince Khalid bin Al-Faisal; Prince Mohammed bin Saad; Prince Turki bin Faisal bin Turki (I); Prince Mohammed bin Nasser; Prince Faisal bin Bandar; Prince Saud bin Abdulmohsin; Prince Mohammed bin Fahd; Prince Khalid bin Sultan; Prince Talal bin Mansour; Prince Khalid bin Abdullah; Prince Mohammed bin Mishari; Prince Faisal bin Khalid; Prince Badr bin Mohammed; Prince Faisal bin Thamir; Prince Mishaal bin Majed; Prince Abdullah bin Musaed; Prince Faisal bin Abdulmajeed; and Prince Abdulaziz bin Nawaf.