5 captures
13 Apr 2011 - 09 Sep 2015
About this capture
Contact Us
2011 Award Recipients
Each John Carroll Weekend culminates with a banquet celebrating the John Carroll and Patrick Healy Award recipients and their distinguished service to Georgetown and their communities, their lifetime achievement and dedication to advancing Georgetown's mission of distinguished service and leadership.
The John Carroll Award
The John Carroll Award was established by the Georgetown University Alumni Association in 1951 to honor alumni whose achievements exemplify the ideals and traditions of Georgetown University and its founder, Archbishop John Carroll. The John Carroll Award is the highest honor bestowed by the alumni association. All recipients have distinguished themselves through lifetime achievement and outstanding service to their alma mater. Five John Carroll Awards are presented each year.
2011 John Carroll Award Recipients
  • Mary Taylor Behrens (C'83)
  • Philip T. Inglima (C'84, L'88)
  • The Hon. M. Margaret McKeown (L'75, H'05)
  • Paul F. Pelosi (F'62)
  • Michael L. Vespoli (B'68)
The Patrick Healy Award
The Patrick Healy Award is the highest honor bestowed by the alumni association upon distinguished individuals who are not alumni. Established in 1969 and named for Rev. Patrick Healy, S.J., the first black president of a major American university and Georgetown's "second founder," the Patrick Healy Award symbolizes the deep admiration that the university holds for these unique individuals and special friends of Georgetown. The alumni association presents one Patrick Healy Award each year.
2011 Patrick Healy Award recipient
C. Richard Schlegel, M.D., Ph.D. (Faculty)
Nomination Process
There are four criteria for selection: lifetime achievement, dedication to the principles of Georgetown, volunteer service to Georgetown and community and public service. A nomination form is sent to all alumni. Approximately one month after the nomination deadline, a selection committee of the board of governors meets to choose the recipients.
Georgetown University | Office of Advancement | Georgetown Alumni Online
© 2010 Privacy Policy
JCW History2011 Schedule of Events2011 Award RecipientsPrevious Distinguished RecipientsSponsorshipsCommunity Service InitiativeFAQAcknowledgementsMobile AppRegisterWho's ComingMobile App Page