44 captures
16 Oct 2006 - 07 Apr 2022
About this capture

The Riksbank’s Prize in Economic Sciences
Sveriges Riksbank’s Prize in Economic Sciences was established in connection with the Riksbank’s 300th anniversary in 1968. The prize is awarded every year to a person or persons in the field of economic sciences who have produced work of outstanding importance. The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences appoints the prize-winner(s) according to the same principles as for the Nobel Prizes. The prize amount is also the same as for the Nobel Prizes, SEK 10 million, and is paid by the Riksbank. If there is more than one winner, the prize amount is shared equally between them.
In 2010 the prize was awarded to to Peter A. Diamond, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA, USA, Dale T. Mortensen, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, USA, and Christopher A. Pissarides, London School of Economics and Political Science, UK “for their analysis of markets with search frictions”.
Previous prizewinners
1969 R. Frisch och J. Tinbergen
1970 P. A. Samuelson
1971 S. Kuznets
1972 J.R. Hicks and K.J. Arrow
1973 W. Leontief
1974 G. Myrdal och F.A. von Hayek
1975 L.V. Kantorovich och T.C. Koopmans
1976 M. Friedman
1977 B. Ohlin and J.E. Meade
1978 H.A. Simon
1979 T.W. Schultz and A. Lewis
1980 L.R. Klein
1981 J. Tobin
1982 G.J. Stigler
1983 G. Debreu
1984 R. Stone
1985 F. Modigliani
1986 J.M. Buchanan Jr
1987 R.M. Solow
1988 M. Allais
1989 T. Haavelmo
1990 H.M. Markowitz, M.H. Miller and W.F. Sharpe
1991 R.H. Coase
1992 G.S. Becker
1993 R.W. Fogel and D.C. North
1994 J.C. Harsanyi, J.F. Nash Jr och R. Selten
1995 R.E. Lucas, Jr.
1996 J.A. Mirrlees and W. Vickrey
1997 R.C. Merton and M.S. Scholes
1998 A. Sen
1999 R.A. Mundell
2000 J.J. Heckman and D.L. McFadden
2001 G.A. Akerlof, A.M. Spence and J.E. Stiglitz
2002 D. Kahneman and V. L. Smith
2003 R.F. Engle and C.W.J. Granger
2004 Finn E. Kydland and Edward C. Prescott
2005 Robert J. Aumann and Thomas C. Schelling
2006 Edmund S. Phelps
2007 Leonid Hurwicz, Eric S. Maskin och Roger B. Myerson
2008 Paul Krugman
2009 Elinor Ostrom and Oliver E. Williamson
The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences

General Secretariat

103 37 Stockholm Brunkebergstorg 11 Phone +46 8 787 00 00 Fax +46 8 21 05 31 Email registratorn@riksbank.se Press contact +46 8 787 02 00
The RiksbankInterest & exchange ratesNotes & coinsMonetary policyFinancial stabilityPress & publishedResearch
The Riksbank's role in the economyThe Riksbank’s asset managementStructureInternational Co-operationLegislationHistoryThe buildingWork at the Riksbank