Arthur Ross Book Award
The annual Arthur Ross Book Award recognizes books that make an outstanding contribution to the understanding of foreign policy or international relations. The prize, endowed by the late Arthur Ross in 2001, is for nonfiction works from the past year, in English or translation, that merit special attention for:
bringing forth new information that changes the understanding of events or problems;
developing analytical approaches that offer insights into critical issues; or
introducing ideas that help resolve foreign policy problems.
2021 Shortlist
The Man Who Ran Washington: The Life and Times of James Baker
Peter Baker and Susan Glasser

The Price of Peace: Money, Democracy, and the Life of John Maynard Keynes
Zachary D. Carter

Exercise of Power: American Failures, Successes, and a New Path Forward in the Post-Cold War World
Robert M. Gates
A World Safe for Democracy: Liberal Internationalism and the Crises of Global Order
G. John Ikenberry

War: How Conflict Shaped Us
Margaret MacMillan

The Upswing: How America Came Together a Century Ago and How We Can Do It Again
Robert Putnam with Shaylyn Romney Garrett
One Mighty and Irresistible Tide: The Epic Struggle Over American Immigration, 19241965
Jia Lynn Yang
Arthur Ross Book Award Events
You can view past Arthur Ross Book Award events and read the transcripts here.
The Past Winners
Here is the list of past winners of the Arthur Ross Book Award, 2005 through 2020.
We are no longer accepting nominations for the 2020 award cycle. The deadline to submit nominations for the 2021 Arthur Ross Book Award was Sunday, February 21, 2021. If you would like to nominate a book published in 2020 for the 2021 award, please email with the following in the text of the email.
Book title
Book author
Publication date, including year
Publisher name

For any other inquiries, please call 212.434.9600.
Gideon Rose (Chair)
Distinguished Fellow, Council on Foreign Relations
Lisa Anderson
President Emerita, American University in Cairo
Kwame Anthony Appiah
Professor, Philosophy and Law, New York University
Sumit Ganguly
Rabindranath Tagore Chair in Indian Cultures and Civilizations, Indiana University at Bloomington
Michelle D. Gavin
Senior Fellow for Africa Studies, Council on Foreign Relations; Former U.S. Ambassador to Botswana
Paul D. Golob
President and Executive Editor, Deadline Management LLC
Calvin G. Sims
Executive Vice President of Standards and Practices, CNN
Andrew Ross Sorkin
Columnist and Assistant Business Editor, New York Times
Sue Mi Terry
Senior Fellow, Korea Chair, Center for Strategic & International Studies
News Releases
News Releases
Say Nothing: A True Story of Murder and Memory in Northern Ireland Wins Arthur Ross Book Award
Jill Lepore's “These Truths: A History of the United States” Wins 2019 CFR Arthur Ross Book Award
Stephen Kotkin's “Stalin: Waiting for Hitler, 1929-1941” Wins 2018 CFR Arthur Ross Book Award
John Pomfret’s “The Beautiful Country and the Middle Kingdom” Wins 2017 CFR Arthur Ross Book Award
Niall Ferguson’s “Kissinger: 1923-1968: The Idealist” Wins 2016 CFR Arthur Ross Book Award
Piketty’s “Capital in the Twenty-First Century” Wins 2015 CFR Arthur Ross Book Award
Gary Bass Wins CFR’s 2014 Arthur Ross Book Award for “The Blood Telegram”
Fredrik Logevall Wins CFR’s 2013 Arthur Ross Book Award for “Embers of War”
John Lewis Gaddis Wins CFR’s 2012 Arthur Ross Book Award for “George F. Kennan: An American Life”
Carmen Reinhart and Kenneth Rogoff Win CFR’s 2011 Arthur Ross Book Award for “This Time is Different”
Liaquat Ahamed Wins CFR’s 2010 Arthur Ross Book Award for “Lords of Finance”
Philip Pan Wins CFR’s 2009 Arthur Ross Book Award for “Out of Mao’s Shadow”
Paul Collier Wins CFR’s 2008 Arthur Ross Book Award for “Bottom Billion”
Kwame Anthony Appiah Wins CFR’s 2007 Arthur Ross Book Award for “Cosmopolitanism”
Tony Judt Wins CFR’s 2006 Arthur Ross Book Award for “Postwar”
CFR’s 2006 Arthur Ross Book Award Shortlist Announced
Steve Coll Wins the Council’s 2005 Arthur Ross Book Award for “Ghost Wars”
CFR’s 2005 Arthur Ross Book Award Shortlist Announced
Daniel Benjamin and Steven Simon Win CFR’s 2004 Arthur Ross Book Award for “The Age of Sacred Terror”
Samantha Power Wins CFR’s Second Annual Arthur Ross Book Award for “A Problem from Hell”
Robert Skidelsky Wins CFR’s First Arthur Ross Book Award
2002 Arthur Ross Book Award Short List Announced
Member Programs
For Media
©2021 Council on Foreign Relations.All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.