Global Board of Advisors
The Global Board of Advisors (GBA) consists of prominent individuals, including business leaders, noted academics, and former government officials from developed and emerging-market countries. The prestigious group provides CFR with insight about their regions and also offers a mechanism for members of the GBA to join discussions on international relations and the U.S. role in the world. The GBA is chaired by David M. Rubenstein, CFR Board chairman.
Members of the Global Board of Advisors
Oliver Bäte, Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of the Board of Management, Allianz SE, Germany
Hakeem Belo-Osagie, Chairman of the Board, FSDH Holding Company Limited, Nigeria
Claudio Descalzi, Chief Executive Officer, Eni, Italy
Paul G. Desmarais Jr., Chairman, Power Corporation of Canada, Canada
André Esteves, Senior Partner, BTG Pactual, Brazil
José Antonio Fernández Carbajal, Executive Chairman of the Board,FEMSA, Mexico
Fred Hu, Founder and Chairman,Primavera Capital Group, China
Mo Ibrahim, Founder and Chairman, Mo Ibrahim Foundation, Sudan
Ali Y. Koç, Vice Chairman, Koç Holdings A.Ş., Turkey
Frank Lowy, Chairman of the Board, Lowy Institute, Australia
Strive Masiyiwa, Founder and Executive Chairman, Econet Group, Zimbabwe
Sunil Bharti Mittal, Founder and Chairman, Bharti Enterprises, India
Takeshi Niinami, President and Chief Executive Officer, Suntory Holdings Limited, Japan
Victor Pinchuk, Founder, EastOne Group, Ukraine
Vladimir Potanin, President and Chairman of the Management Board, MMC Norilsk Nickel, Russia
Carlos Rodríguez-Pastor, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Interbank, Peru
Suzan Sabancı Dinçer, Chairman, Akbank, Turkey
John Sawers, Former Chief, Secret Intelligence Service MI6; Founder and Executive Chairman, Newbridge Advisory, United Kingdom
Nassef Sawiris, Chief Executive Officer, OCI NV, Egypt
Javier Solana, Former Secretary-General, NATO; President, ESADEgeo–Center for Global Economy and Geopolitics, Spain
Tidjane Thiam, Special Envoy on Covid-19, African Union; Executive Chairman, Freedom Acquisition I Corporation, France and Ivory Coast
Helle Thorning-Schmidt, Former Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Denmark, Denmark
Patrick Walujo, Cofounder and Managing Partner, Northstar Group, Indonesia
Xin (Shynn) Zhang, Cofounder and Chief Executive Officer, SOHO China Limited, China
Members of the Global Board of Advisors
Member Programs
For Media
©2021 Council on Foreign Relations.All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.