Dear visitor,
We use analytics cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. You have the choice to refuse or accept them.
For any information on the other cookies and server logs we use, we invite you to read our data protection policy , our cookies policy and our cookies inventory.
European Parliament
Members of the European Parliament
The European Parliament is made up of 705 Members elected in the 27 Member States of the enlarged European Union. Since 1979 MEPs have been elected by direct universal suffrage for a five-year period.
Search for your MEP
Member name
704 Members
Show list
About MEPs
Each country decides on the form its election will take, but must guarantee equality of the sexes and a secret ballot. EU elections are by proportional representation. Voting age is 18, aside from Austria, where it is 16. Seats are allocated on the basis of population of each Member State. Slightly more than a third of MEPs are women. MEPs are grouped by political affinity, not nationality. MEPs divide their time between their constituencies, Strasbourg - where 12 plenary sittings a year are held - and Brussels, where they attend additional plenary sittings, as well as committee and political group meetings. The terms and conditions for Members are laid out in the Statute of 2009.
About MEPs
Share this page:
Sign up for email updates
European Parliament
Contact Sitemap Legal notice Privacy policyAccessibility
Access to page content (press "Enter") Direct access to language menu (press "Enter") Direct access to search menu (press "Enter")
News MEPs About Parliament Plenary Committees DelegationsNewsMEPsAbout ParliamentPlenaryCommitteesDelegationsMultimedia CentrePresident’s websiteSecretariat-generalThink tankEP NewshubAt your serviceVisitsLegislative trainContracts and GrantsRegister
Home Advanced search Browse chamber Browse table Full list Incoming members Outgoing members Assistants Directory About