Subscribe
OPINION Oct 8, 2021, 1:29 AM
I started a Discord community for Asian artists and writers during Singapore's harshest COVID lockdown. It helped keep me — and my creative spirit — going.
At the height of the COVID-19 pandemic in Singapore, I decided to stop doom scrolling on Twitter, and find a way to connect with other Asian creatives the best way I knew how — online.
ENTERTAINMENT Oct 1, 2021, 9:35 AM
Henry Golding should be the next James Bond
Starring in "Crazy Rich Asians," "The Gentlemen," and "Monsoon," Henry Golding has proven he has the charm, physicality, and skill to play 007.
OPINION Jul 26, 2021, 2:12 PM
Hold the applause. Team names changes for Cleveland, Washington are corporate compliance, not cancel culture
The Cleveland Guardians and Washington Football Team announcing name changes are casualties of corporate guilt, not cancel culture.
OPINION Jul 14, 2021, 11:46 AM
Voting rights is a matter of justice, not bipartisanship
While Democrats and Republicans battle over voting rights legislation, professor Ray Baker writes the true two sides are justice versus injustice.
HEALTH Jul 2, 2021, 1:47 PM
Banning Sha’Carri Richardson from the Olympics for weed is outdated. So is the idea that weed slows you down.
People joked that Richardson should have got a head-start, not a penalty. That plays on a stereotype that weed is for stoners — and it's wrong.
OPINION Jun 19, 2021, 3:20 PM
This Juneteenth, spare Black people your performative allyship
Without advocacy, companies celebrating Juneteenth are engaging in performative activism, writes Insider's Grace O'Connell-Joshua.
OPINION Jun 18, 2021, 2:05 PM
Black history is under attack as states ban critical race theory. Teaching Juneteenth is key to fighting back
The backlash to critical race theory and Black Lives Matter makes teaching Juneteenth essential to racial justice.
OPINION Jun 15, 2021, 9:05 AM
'Never forget' the terror of Tulsa. But for Black Americans, reflection without reparations is American mythmaking.
The US often honors its past without making amends for its transgressions when they've benefitted a people, institution, or government.
ENTERTAINMENT May 13, 2021, 9:32 AM
'The Underground Railroad' is a sprawling, thoughtful epic about slavery without the gratuitous violence
Oscar-winner Barry Jenkins directed all 10 episodes of "The Underground Railroad," which is adapted from Colson Whitehead's novel.
LIFESTYLE May 3, 2021, 8:36 AM
The dream Disney World vacation is too expensive for the average American family
Walt Disney said he wanted his parks to be "a source of joy and inspiration to all the world." But high costs mean they're out of reach for millions.
OPINION Apr 21, 2021, 11:15 AM
Derek Chauvin's guilty verdict will never bring me peace
I live every day with the knowledge that my story could become George Floyd's family's story. It gnaws at my spirit in even the most banal of moments.
HEALTH Mar 4, 2021, 12:18 PM
Stop using the phrase 'womxn' to be trans-inclusive. It can be offensive to trans women and non-binary people.
"Womxn" is often used to include trans women and non-binary people in feminist circles, but it actually does the opposite.
OPINION Feb 22, 2021, 12:04 PM
My family received threatening anti-Semitic propaganda in the mail, and I worry that Trump-endorsed hate speech is here to stay
More than a month after the Capitol riot, my family experienced the same kind of vitriol shown that day — but, quite literally, on our doorstep.
NEWS Feb 12, 2021, 11:27 AM
This Lunar New Year, I'm choosing to celebrate my heritage more than ever — because the US never will
This Lunar New Year, amid a recent wave of anti-Asian violence, it's more important than ever to take pride in where I come from.
ENTERTAINMENT Feb 6, 2021, 5:54 PM
'Malcolm and Marie': Zendaya and John David Washington make a compelling, shallow couple
The pair toss and turn between fits of rage and love. It all just sort of bounces off the audience because nothing they are saying carries any weight.
TRAVEL Dec 20, 2020, 4:13 AM
'Flights to nowhere' are the dumbest travel trend of 2020
Many of the flights sold out in minutes, and thousands of people were willing to pay hundreds of dollars to embark on a journey to nowhere.
OPINION Dec 4, 2020, 7:35 AM
The only way you're going to survive this awful, terrible winter is reading a gigantic epic science fiction or fantasy series
Living through this winter is going to be hard. You'll be much happier if you start reading a gigantic fantasy or science fiction series.
ENTERTAINMENT Nov 21, 2020, 3:43 AM
'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1' features the single best scene in the entire series
The scene where Harry and Hermione dance together is the most tender and mature moment in the entire "Harry Potter" series.
OPINION Oct 10, 2020, 6:00 AM
The NFL had plenty of time to plan for COVID-19. They didn't.
COVID-19 is wreaking havoc on the NFL season, and now the league is risking the health of its players to carry out a bad plan.
OPINION Sep 21, 2020, 3:50 PM
The problem with the Emmy attention for 'Ramy'
"Ramy" has been celebrated as a show that finally represents Muslim-Americans, but in reality it peddles in problematic stereotypes.
OPINION Jun 26, 2020, 12:57 PM
It's time for non-Black Latinx people to talk about anti-Blackness in our own communities — and the conversation starts at home
Understanding and combating anti-Blackness within ourselves and our communities is our duty, and the work will never be over.
OPINION Jun 24, 2020, 10:12 AM
How to fight white supremacy and police brutality if you don't feel comfortable attending protests because of the coronavirus
If you're afraid of protests because of the coronavirus, there are other ways to help — even after the demonstrations disappear from the headlines.
OPINION Jun 21, 2020, 8:53 AM
I don't need to see another Black person die. 30 years of brutal footage hasn't stopped these killings.
It's time for the nation to think deeply not only about the purpose of sharing these videos, but who benefits from them most.
OPINION Jun 18, 2020, 7:13 AM
Cultural institutions need to stop the empty gestures and performative activism — it's time to do the real work of anti-racism
Organizations like the Guggenheim and Bon Appétit have run on empty words for too long. As centers of cultural education, they need to do better.
LIFESTYLE Jun 5, 2020, 7:39 AM
Black mothers have always been the backbone of societal pain. We're beyond tired — it's time for others to stand for us.
George Floyd called out for his late mother as he lay dying, and "as a Black woman and mother myself, I understood his call," writes Imani Bashir.
NEWS Jun 4, 2020, 6:04 AM
White journalists should be reporting on racial injustice, not just stepping aside for black writers
White journalists shouldn't be allowed to shy away from uncomfortable truths. And limiting black writers to covering their own trauma is problematic.
POLITICS May 29, 2020, 12:05 PM
The tragedies of Minneapolis
The killing of George Floyd is a tragedy that is now compounding into other tragedies and calls into question police treatment of black Americans.
POLITICS May 28, 2020, 11:05 AM
Trump's social-media order isn't crazy, and it will probably work
Trump is using his executive order to try and bully the social media companies into letting him do whatever we wants on their platforms.
NEWS May 26, 2020, 9:27 AM
I'm a member of the Navajo Nation, and my people are dying from the coronavirus. We're facing the virus head-on with limited access to healthcare and supplies.
Tyrone Whitehorse, of the Navajo Nation, writes that the coronavirus is wreaking havoc on his community.
SPORTS May 24, 2020, 2:33 PM
I'm not American and not a basketball fan, but I watched Michael Jordan's 'The Last Dance' — and it was by far the best sports documentary I've ever seen
The series gave an insight into the mindset of an elite athlete like no other has done before, and was a thrill to watch from start to finish.
CULTURE Apr 23, 2020, 7:43 AM
How Caroline Calloway followed the 'Disaster Artist' playbook to become Instagram's ultimate performance artist
The art of both Tommy Wiseau and the influencer Caroline Calloway has been ridiculed, but they've achieved cult-like status as performance artists.
OPINION Apr 10, 2020, 10:40 AM
Hot dogs are the best quarantine food
Mitt Romney was right about one thing: hot dog is the best meat. And they're the perfect food for These Times.
OPINION Mar 2, 2020, 9:17 AM
Black voters shouldn't be 'pragmatic' in 2020
Moderate candidates have banked on the black voter for decades, and yet black people have seen little to no benefit from it.
OPINION Feb 28, 2020, 10:13 AM
Millennials and Gen Z: Tell your parents to ignore Fox News and take coronavirus precautions. As this chart shows, older people have the highest risk of death
Fox News is telling their viewers the threat of the coronavirus is being played up by Democrats to attack Trump. That is dangerous for Fox's older viewers.
HEALTH Feb 18, 2020, 7:55 AM
What it's like to have Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, a misunderstood illness that leaves people in wheelchairs and derails entire careers
The illness could affect up to 30 million people, yet many doctors still think it's in the mind, suggesting therapy and antidepressants as treatment.
CULTURE Feb 1, 2020, 6:00 AM
The death of Club Penguin isn't the first time money killed an online community and it won't be the last
The last in-game event began exactly two years ago on February 1, 2017, and celebrated the site's history and community.
LIFESTYLE Jan 12, 2020, 4:02 AM
A private chef says Instagram has fueled an isolating, competitive food culture in Japan — and she wants to change it using habits from the French
Shima Tassin, famous for her housekeeping advice in Japan, is urging more families to come together through cooking.
PEOPLE Jan 1, 2020, 5:14 AM
Why you should opt for the Dutch de-stressing method 'niksen' over 'hygge,' according to a health expert
Naoko Yamamoto, a Japanese author who lived in the Netherlands for 15 years, explains how Niksen can help any stressed person decompress.
OPINION Dec 23, 2019, 12:56 PM
Hallmark's new Hanukkah holiday movies are a well-intentioned attempt at inclusion that ultimately falls flat
Two of Hallmark's new holiday movies include Hanukkah for the first time. The Jewish characters are completely clueless about Christmas traditions.
TECH Dec 18, 2019, 6:45 AM
The spiciest, best tweet of the decade, according to the numbers
A Twitter war raged about the best tweet of the decade. We conducted our own analysis by the numbers.
LIFESTYLE Dec 5, 2019, 2:01 PM
6 lessons modern men can learn from watching 'Sex and the City,' according to podcasters The Bradshaw Boys
"Sex and the City" still has a huge fanbase — and it's taught this trio of comedians a lot about themselves and their relationships.
POLITICS Dec 4, 2019, 5:29 AM
Putin got exactly what he wants from NATO this week, thanks to Trump
Russia's main strategy to deter NATO is to encourage splits that will paralyze NATO's ability to respond to aggression in a unified way.
POLITICS Nov 30, 2019, 1:29 AM
The London Bridge terror attack shows why really strict gun control is a very, very good idea
If you want to reduce deaths from terrorism, and reduce the effectiveness of terrorists, then really strict gun control is a good way to do it.
LIFESTYLE Nov 14, 2019, 8:51 AM
It's clear some stylists don't know what to do with models' natural hair, and it points to a larger problem in the industry
Many professionals don't know how to work with natural-hair models, and it seems to be due to a lack of education and behind-the-scenes diversity.
OPINION Oct 2, 2019, 5:40 AM
Conservatives are trying to legitimise the use of violence to make Brexit happen
"MPs wouldn't be able to leave a secure zone in SW1, they would be lynched," one insider says. "I think people would get killed."
OPINION Sep 28, 2019, 4:21 AM
David Attenborough said Australia's climate stance proves that it doesn't 'give a damn' about the rest of the world
The legendary British broadcaster attacked Australia's steadfast commitment to the coal industry in an interview with an Australian radio program.
HEALTH Sep 26, 2019, 2:00 AM
How calorie-counting actually helped me develop a healthier relationship with food
Learning about what I was consuming helped me stop seeing foods as "good" or "bad," which in turn has led to less bingeing.
LIFESTYLE Sep 20, 2019, 7:58 AM
Sorry Tan France, the French tuck is a horrible look — and other fashion stylists agree
The French tuck is the style where one tucks the front of their shirt into their pants, but not the back. It sucks.
LIFESTYLE Sep 2, 2019, 6:27 AM
Being an Instagram influencer is hard work, and people who hate on them are just jealous
As an Instagrammer, you're essentially a photographer, journalist, director, producer, model, critic, PR, and PA to yourself all at once.
ENTERTAINMENT Aug 23, 2019, 8:23 AM
The lyrics to Taylor Swift's 'London Boy' are like nails on chalkboard to real Londoners
Swift's ode to the English capital and her British boyfriend Joe Alwyn is undoubtedly catchy, but has left many Londoners cringing at the lyrics.
VIEW MORE
* Copyright © 2021 Insider Inc. All rights reserved. Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our
Terms of ServicePrivacy PolicyandCookies Policy.
Contact Us
Sitemap
Disclaimer
Accessibility
Commerce Policy
CA Privacy Rights
Coupons
Made in NYC
Jobs
Stock quotes byfinanzen.net
Reprints & Permissions
International Editions:
INTL
AS
AT
AUS
DE
ES
FR
IN
JP
MX
NL
PL
ZA
Search icon A magnifying glass. It indicates, "Click to perform a search". Insider logo The word "Insider". Business The word Business TechFinanceMarketsStrategyRetailAdvertisingHealthcareIntelligence Life The word Life EntertainmentCultureTravelFoodHealthParentingBeautyStyle News The word News PoliticsMilitary & DefenseSportsOpinion Reviews The word Reviews Tech & ElectronicsStyleHomeKitchenBeauty & Personal CareTravelGiftsDealsMoneyAdvertisingBusinessCareersCouponsDoorDashWalmartDellStaplesUnder ArmourCultureDesignEntertainmentExecutive LifestyleFinanceFoodHealthHealthcareIntelligenceLatestLifeMarkets InsiderMediaMilitary & DefenseNewsOpinionPeoplePersonal FinancePoliticsPremiumRetailReviewsScienceSportsStrategyTechTransportationTravelTVBeauty ExplorersBest in TownBonkers ClosetsFestival FoodiesMovies InsiderPop Culture DecodedThe Making OfThe Ultimate ListBetter CapitalismCities ConnectedInsider TVMaster Your MoneyNext StopTransforming BusinessAboutAdvertiseCareersContact UsCorporateCorrections PolicyRSSSitemapFacebookSnapchatTwitterInstagramYouTubeNewslettersClick here to learn moreDownload the Insider App on the App StoreDownload the Insider App on Google Play <img src="/public/assets/BII/logos/InsiderIntelligence_Black.svg" /> SEE OUR RESEARCH Facebook Icon The letter F. Twitter icon A stylized bird with an open mouth, tweeting. LinkedIn icon The word "in". YouTube icon A play button in the shape of a television screen. Instagram icon A stylized camera. Copyright © 2021Terms of ServicePrivacy PolicyCookies Policy.SitemapDisclaimerAccessibilityCommerce PolicyCA Privacy RightsCouponsMade in NYCJobsfinanzen.netReprints & Permissions