Admin Bios
Newsroom of the Smithsonian
The Secretary
Lonnie G. Bunch III is the 14th Secretary of the Smithsonian. He assumed his position June 16, 2019. As Secretary, Bunch oversees 19 museums, 21 libraries, the National Zoo, numerous education and research centers, including the Smithsonian Astrophysics Observatory, Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute, Smithsonian Environmental Research Center, and Smithsonian Science Education Center.
Learn more
Senior Leadership Team
Greg Bettwy
Chief of Staff to the Secretary
Meroë Park
Deputy Secretary and Chief Operating Officer
Monique M. Chism
Under Secretary for Education
Kevin Gover
Under Secretary for Museums and Culture
Doug Hall
Acting Under Secretary for Administration
Cathy Helm
Smithsonian Inspector General
Judith E. Leonard
General Counsel
Julissa Marenco
Assistant Secretary for Communications and External Affairs and Chief Marketing Officer
Era L. Marshall
Director, Office of Equal Employment and Minority Affairs
Robert J. Spiller
Assistant Secretary for Advancement
Ellen Stofan
Under Secretary for Science and Research
Porter Wilkinson
Chief of Staff to the Regents
Education, Museums and Culture, Science and Research
Monique M. Chism
Under Secretary for Education
Kevin Gover
Under Secretary for Museums and Culture
Ellen Stofan
Under Secretary for Science and Research
Melanie A. Adams
Director, Anacostia Community Museum
Frederica Adelman
Director, Smithsonian Associates
Charles R. Alcock
Director, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
Ngaire Blankenberg
Director, National Museum of African Art
Christopher Browne
Acting Director, National Air and Space Museum
Melissa Chiu
Director, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden
Eduardo Díaz
Director, Smithsonian Latino Center and Interim Director, Smithsonian’s National Museum of the American Latino
Rachel Goslins
Director, Arts and Industries Building
Elliot Gruber
Director, National Postal Museum
Anthea M. Hartig
Elizabeth MacMillan Director, National Museum of American History
Anson “Tuck” Hines
Director, Smithsonian Environmental Research Center
Theodore S. Gonzalves
Acting Director, Asian Pacific American Program
Kirk Johnson
Sant Director, National Museum of Natural History
Liza Kirwin
Interim Director, Archives of American Art
Robert J. Koestler
Director, Museum Conservation Institute
Scott Miller
Chief Scientist and Interim Director of Smithsonian Libraries and Archives
Darren Milligan
Acting Director, Smithsonian Office of Educational Technology
Machel Monenerkit
Acting Director, National Museum of the American Indian
Ruki Neuhold-Ravikumar
Interim Director, Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum
Carol O'Donnell
Director, Smithsonian Science Education Center
Chase F. Robinson
Director of Smithsonian’s Freer and Sackler Galleries
Aviva Rosenthal
Director, Office of International Relations
Kim Sajet
Director, National Portrait Gallery
Lisa Sasaki
Interim Director, Smithsonian American Women’s History Museum
Brandie Smith
Acting Director, Smithsonian's National Zoo and Conservation Biology Institute
Stephanie Stebich
The Margaret and Terry Stent Director, Smithsonian American Art Museum
Myriam Springuel
Director, Smithsonian Institution Traveling Exhibition Service and Smithsonian Affiliations
William G. Tompkins
Director, National Collections Program
Joshua Tewksbury
Director, Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute
Kevin Young
Director, National Museum of African American History and Culture
News Releases
Media Contacts
Photos and Video
Media Kits
Fact Sheets
Visitor Stats
Secretary and Admin Bios
Filming Requests

Newsdesk RSS

Research News RSS
Terms of Use
Sign up for Smithsonian e-news:
Email powered by BlackBaud
(Privacy Policy, Terms of Use)