TECH
FACEBOOK
Facebook's new Snooze button can mute annoying friends for 30 days
5
Bah humbug
By Natt Garun@nattgarunDec 15, 2017, 10:46am EST
SHARE
Facebook is now rolling out its Snooze feature to all users after a period of testing in September. The tool lets you mute a friend, page, or group for 30 days so you can temporarily purge their updates from your News Feed.
The controls are similar to the current Unfollow / Hide tool that lets you permanently remove a user or page’s updates from your timeline entirely without unfriending them. Instead of Unfollow or Hide, you’ll now see the option to snooze the account for about a month. Personally, I think this is particularly helpful now that people on my timeline are starting to answer those personality questions Facebook introduced a week ago, and their answers are completely flooding my News Feed, since each answer is its own status update card.
But again, Snooze really just delays the inevitable annoyance from a page, so if you are finding yourself snoozing something often on Facebook, just bite the bullet and unfriend them (or better yet, stop using Facebook).
NEXT UP IN TECH
Loading comments...
Chorus
Terms of Use Privacy Notice Cookie PolicyDo Not Sell My Personal Info Licensing FAQAccessibility Platform Status
Contact Tip Us Community Guidelines AboutEthics Statement
Vox Media
Advertise with us
Jobs @ Vox Media
© 2021 Vox Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved
TECH REVIEWS SCIENCE CREATORS ENTERTAINMENT VIDEO FEATURES PODCASTS NEWSLETTERS STORE