US States Ranked By Statehood Date
The United States of America is a federal republic in North America made up of 50 states. 48 of the 50 states are located within the continent’s middle latitude and collectively known as contiguous states. The other two states, Alaska and Hawaii, are located in the Mid-Pacific Ocean. The contiguous states are bounded by Mexico and the Gulf of Mexico on the south, east by the Atlantic Ocean, north by Canada, and west by the Pacific Ocean. Besides the 50 states, the US has dependencies or overseas territories, some of which have expressed the desire to gain statehood.
John Trumbull's painting, Declaration of Independence, being represented to the Congress.
In just over 240 years since the signing of the Declaration of Independence, America has grown from the original 13 states (previously known as Thirteen British Colonies) to the 50 individual states. The states are the main subdivision of the US and share powers with the federal government. While the federal government is in charge of the country’s overall welfare, the state governments are concerned with local state issues, including constructing and maintaining non-federal roads, elections, public or local school policies, and provision of basic services. Each state is guided by both the federal and state constitution, with each state having a unique state constitution.
At the national level, all 50 states are represented in a bicameral parliament known as Congress. The US Congress comprises the Senate or upper chambers and the House of Representatives, also known as the Lower House. Each state elects two senators to the Senate and at least one Representative to the House, depending on the state’s population. However, the total membership to the House is capped at 435. Moreover, each state participates in the presidential election through the Electoral College. The states are assigned EC votes depending on the number of their representatives (Senators and Reps) in the Congress.
Map of the original 13 colonies.
Although the Thirteen Colonies became states in 1776 upon the Declaration of Independence, the statehood dates for all 50 states vary. Stories behind the statehoods are filled with diplomatic negotiations and compromises, battles, and a desire for freedom and democracy by the citizens. The first 13 states gained statehood between 1787 and 1790 through the ratification of the US Constitution, while the other 37 states joined the Union through admission. Through the New States Clause (Admission to the Union) of the US Constitution, the US Congress has powers to admit territories into the Union as new states. However, Congress cannot form new states out of existing ones.
Thirteen Colonies
First States
Delaware, also known as “The First State,” was the first to ratify the 1787 Constitution, doing so on December 7, 1787, and becoming the first state to gain statehood. It was followed by Pennsylvania five days later and New Jersey on December 18, 1787. Georgia, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maryland, South Carolina, New Hampshire, Virginia, and New York were all admitted into the Union on various dates between January and July 1788. Sixteen states had been admitted to the Union by the end of the 18th century. Alaska (January 3, 1959) and Hawaii (August 21, 1959) are the latest states to be admitted to the Union. 
No.StateDate(admitted or ratified)Formed From
1 DelawareDecember 7, 1787(ratified)Colony of Delaware
2 PennsylvaniaDecember 12, 1787(ratified)Proprietary Province of Pennsylvania
3 New JerseyDecember 18, 1787(ratified)Crown Colony of New Jersey
4 GeorgiaJanuary 2, 1788(ratified)Crown Colony of Georgia
5 ConnecticutJanuary 9, 1788(ratified)Crown Colony of Connecticut
6 MassachusettsFebruary 6, 1788(ratified)Crown Colony of Massachusetts Bay
7 MarylandApril 28, 1788(ratified)Proprietary Province of Maryland
8 South CarolinaMay 23, 1788(ratified)Crown Colony of South Carolina
9 New HampshireJune 21, 1788(ratified)Crown Colony of New Hampshire
10 VirginiaJune 25, 1788(ratified)Crown Colony and Dominion of Virginia
11 New YorkJuly 26, 1788(ratified)Crown Colony of New York
12 North CarolinaNovember 21, 1789(ratified)Crown Colony of North Carolina
13 Rhode IslandMay 29, 1790(ratified)Crown Colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
14 VermontMarch 4, 1791(admitted)Vermont Republic
15 KentuckyJune 1, 1792(admitted)Virginia (nine counties in its District of Kentucky)
16 TennesseeJune 1, 1796(admitted)Southwest Territory
17 OhioMarch 1, 1803(admitted)Northwest Territory (part)
18 LouisianaApril 30, 1812(admitted)Territory of Orleans
19 IndianaDecember 11, 1816(admitted)Indiana Territory
20 MississippiDecember 10, 1817(admitted)Mississippi Territory
21 IllinoisDecember 3, 1818(admitted)Illinois Territory (part)
22 AlabamaDecember 14, 1819(admitted)Alabama Territory
23 MaineMarch 15, 1820(admitted)Massachusetts (District of Maine)
24 MissouriAugust 10, 1821(admitted)Missouri Territory (part)
25 ArkansasJune 15, 1836[27](admitted)Arkansas Territory
26 MichiganJanuary 26, 1837[28](admitted)Michigan Territory
27 FloridaMarch 3, 1845(admitted)Florida Territory
28 TexasDecember 29, 1845(admitted)Republic of Texas
29 IowaDecember 28, 1846(admitted)Iowa Territory (part)
30 WisconsinMay 29, 1848(admitted)Wisconsin Territory (part)
31 CaliforniaSeptember 9, 1850(admitted)Unorganized territory / Mexican Cession (part)
32 MinnesotaMay 11, 1858(admitted)Minnesota Territory (part)
33 OregonFebruary 14, 1859(admitted)Oregon Territory (part)
34 KansasJanuary 29, 1861(admitted)Kansas Territory (part)
35 West VirginiaJune 20, 1863(admitted)Virginia (50 Trans-Allegheny region counties)
36 NevadaOctober 31, 1864(admitted)Nevada Territory
37 NebraskaMarch 1, 1867(admitted)Nebraska Territory
38 ColoradoAugust 1, 1876(admitted)Colorado Territory
39 North DakotaNovember 2, 1889(admitted)Dakota Territory (part)
40 South DakotaNovember 2, 1889(admitted)Dakota Territory (part)
41 MontanaNovember 8, 1889(admitted)Montana Territory
42 WashingtonNovember 11, 1889(admitted)Washington Territory
43 IdahoJuly 3, 1890(admitted)Idaho Territory
44 WyomingJuly 10, 1890(admitted)Wyoming Territory
45 UtahJanuary 4, 1896(admitted)Utah Territory
46 OklahomaNovember 16, 1907(admitted)Oklahoma Territory and Indian Territory
47 New MexicoJanuary 6, 1912(admitted)New Mexico Territory
48 ArizonaFebruary 14, 1912(admitted)Arizona Territory
49 AlaskaJanuary 3, 1959(admitted)Territory of Alaska
50 HawaiiAugust 21, 1959(admitted)Territory of Hawaii
John Misachi May 7 2021 in Geography

All maps, graphics, flags, photos and original descriptions © 2021
Contact Us
About Us
Fact Checking Policy
Corrections Policy
Ownership Policy
.wa-logo-cls-1,.wa-logo-cls-2{fill:#fff;}.wa-logo-cls-1{stroke:#fff;stroke-miterlimit:10;} All ContinentsNorth AmericaCaribbeanCentral AmericaSouth AmericaEuropeAfricaMiddle EastAsiaOceaniaArcticAntarcticaAll CountriesUS MapsChina MapsRussia MapsPhilippines MapsEgypt MapsEnvironmentWorld FactsTravelGeographyDid You Know?HistoryScienceQuick FactsFeaturedEconomicsPoliticsSocietyAbout UsContact UsPrivacyCopyright